Among the U.S. states, Florida has the highest rate of drivers who do not carry insurance, so anyone without uninsured motorist coverage could find themselves in quite a financial bind after they are injured in a devastating car accident.
According to a study by the Insurance Research Council (IRC), Florida tops the entire nation for its rate of uninsured drivers: 26.7%. That figure means that 1 out of every 4 drivers on Florida’s roads is likely to not have the liability insurance they need to cover the costs of an accident they cause.
If you get hit by one of these irresponsible drivers, you could be forced to pay for the hefty medical costs of your injury by yourself. Or, you could opt to add uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage to your existing auto insurance policy, which can protect you in the event that you are hurt by a driver who does not carry BIL insurance coverage.
By adding UM/UIM coverage to your existing car insurance policy and working with Miami car accident attorneys, you have a much higher chance of securing the compensation you need to recover financially after getting hurt in a bad Florida car wreck.
Unlike nearly every other state in the country, Florida does not require drivers to carry third-party liability insurance to pay for the costs of treating bodily injuries they cause in a car accident.
Instead, every driver is only required to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP), which pays for the costs of their own medical treatment. Drivers must also carry $10,000 worth of PDL coverage to pay for property damage they cause in an accident, but not any bodily injury liability coverage (BIL).
For comparison, nearly every other state requires all drivers to pay for BIL car insurance. If a driver causes an accident by driving dangerously or making a mistake, then the people they injure can file a BIL claim that will help them pay for their hospital bills and treatment costs. A car accident injury claim can also compensate them for income they lose because they had to miss work while they recovered.
This system ensures that negligent drivers can be held responsible for the consequences of their actions, and it also reduces the overall risk that someone will be saddled with medical bills they can’t pay for through no fault or mistake of their own.
The costs of treating an auto accident injury in Florida are nothing to sneeze at, either. According to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the average car crash injury costs more than $15,000 to pay for in full when including the long-term costs of recovery and missed work.
Because Florida’s drivers are not required to carry BIL insurance, it has the highest rate of car crash injury victims who file for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
UM/UIM is a policy add-on that kicks in when you are hit by a driver who does not carry enough liability insurance coverage — or any liability coverage — to pay for the full cost of your injuries. Thanks to Florida law, it is available on every car insurance policy you can buy in the state. The add-on coverage typically does not cost a whole lot, but it provides a lot in terms of financial security.
With UM/UIM, you can fight for your right to seek financial compensation any time you are hurt in a car crash by a negligent driver. A Miami car accident lawyer can represent you during your claim, helping you increase your chances of successfully obtaining the maximum available compensation for all of your injury costs.
If you have been injured in a car accident in South Florida, remember that you always have legal rights to pursue a claim. You can work with experienced Miami car accident attorneys who will fight for your case and negotiate with insurers on your behalf.
Learn more about your legal options after your car wreck during a free consultation. To schedule your free, no obligation case review, contact us now online or by calling 800-560-5059.